home about blog product branches contact us Search

Featured Blogs

Dive Into Success: FAST Ateneo Swimming Team’s back-to-back championship

Share Button


Ateneo FAST

The Ateneo Swimming Team surfaced triumphant, bagging a back-to-back championship triple in the UAAP Season 78 Swimming Championships held last October 22-25, 2015. The Blue and Lady Tankers conquered the waters to claim their first-place spot in the podium while the High School department’s Junior Tankers won its 11th consecutive title for this year’s season.

The Ateneo Tankers were dominant from start to finish, marking new historical triumphs as Jessie Lacuna and Hannah Dato both ruling the 100m butterfly were awarded as this year’s Most Valuable Players in the men’s and women’s division. Both swimmers won seven gold medals each, crushing records along the course of the competition. FAST swimmer Raegan Gavino was also awarded this year’s Rookie of the Year in the women’s division.

Winning golds for the men’s division is team captain Axel Ngui in the 400m freestyle, the team of Jeric Santos, Gio Palencia, Paolo Mutuc and Carlo Silva for the 200m medley relay and the team of Brandon Sing, Justin Sy, Gerard Reyes and Gio Palencia for the 4x100m freestyle relay, all breaking UAAP records. Ngui also broke the Philippine swimming record in the 50m backstroke with a time of 26.89. Carlo Silva broke a 12-year-old UAAP record in the Men’s 100m breaststroke with a time of 1:05.93.

Not to be outdone by their male counterparts, the Lady Tankers also received several gold medals for this year’s season. Kimberly Uy bagged the gold in the 800m freestyle, Ariana Herranz last year’s top rookie took the first place in the podium in the 200m backstroke, as well as the medley team of Basille Uy, Julia Balanag, Bethanie Martin and Hannah Castaneda in the 200m medley relay, and the team of Dominiq Reyes, Julia Balanag, Ramona Datu and Kimberly Uy for the 800m freestyle relay.

Noted for his performance is Aldo Batungbacal, last year’s Rookie of the Year, shattered the long- standing UAAP record in the finals of 1500m freestyle by National University’s Cesar Palacios (16:55.53) with a new time of 16:49.89.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,